June 1 814: Hobhouse Relates Some Napoleonic Gossip

0c9b9-photo

On June 1 1814, John Cam Hobhouse writes in his diary some gossip about Napoleon from an officer who had supposedly accompanied Napoleon from Fontainebleau to Elba.

Wednesday June 1st 1814: Wrote Hungarian journal.

Kinnaird told me yesterday that Whitbread wrote the Princess’s late letter to the Queen relative to her going to the drawing-rooms of this month, and Brougham that to the Prince of Wales.

I called on Byron, and dressing without dining, went to the Duke of Bedford’s box at Covent Garden, where were Lord and Lady J. Petersham,

Lord William Russell, and Frank Stanhope. Petersham is a man of most polished manners, and kind. Frank Stanhope I don’t like – a mauvais naturel, though very good-humour[ed]. We saw Mrs Jordan act Lady Teazle, for the last night of her engagement – she is to my mind too vulgar, although Sheridan told Lord Petersham that Mrs Jordan came more up to his notion of Lady Teazle than Miss Farren, who was not vulgar and sprightly enough according to her country education.

Afterwards we saw The Miller and his Men and then, walking home by twelve o’clock, went to a party and supper at Lady Jersey’s. I was too late for the

conjuring, which had already taken place, but came in time to be introduced to the wonder of the evening, General Cran or some such name, by Lady Melbourne. The general was one of those who accompanied Napoleon from Fontainebleau to Elba, and is just returned. He mentioned that Napoleon travelled night and day, except, I think, two nights – that during the journey by land he was somewhat pensive and apparently unwell, but that when on board the Undaunted frigate he was “assez gai”. When in Provence he was in considerable danger, and had he passed through Marseilles would have been torn to pieces. Near Aix he was obliged to pass for an English commissary. His favourite wine is champagne, and when sitting at table at this inn, he had hold of a bottle, but seeing that the hostess was looking at him, and thinking it might appear too grand for his assumed character to keep it to himself, he gave the bottle to General Cran, who was sitting opposite to him, and submissively asked him to give him a glass. Afterwards the same hostess taking him for an Englishman, talked to him of Napoleon for two hours, abusing him, and telling him what he would do if he were in her power. Bonaparte mentioned this afterwards in great good humour to General Cran. He did on one or two occasions show himself alarmed, “Which,” said the General, “was natural enough – he did not wish to die so poor a death. But as for his personal courage, who can doubt it? It is certain that at Arcis-sur-Aube, at Brienne, he led on the columns himself to the attack – I saw him”.

He came to Fréjus on the fourth of May, where, on the 8th of October 1795, he had landed on his return from Egypt. Whilst walking about he said, in the hearing of the General, “It is curious enough – I recollect that about this very day, so many years ago, I was ordered by the government to shoot two men for wearing the white cockade – je les ai sauvé – those mountains recall it to my mind”. (I think he said this at Fréjus, but I am not certain – it was either there or approaching Elba).

He was well-received at Elba. He has from four to five hundred of the Old Guard with him. Before he left Fontainebleau he was heard to say, addressing himself, I think, to General Flahaut, “Believe me, I had rather be master of Elba than of diminished France”.

The poor General was questioned to death.

The Prince of Orange danced in his regimentals. Caroline Lamb marked me out for all sorts of attentions – she would insist on taking me home in her carriage and setting me down at my own door – her maid was with her. She told me Madame de Staël used to embrace her very often, and seemed to like it very much.

To bed at two.

Leave a comment