March 31 1813: The Marquis of Sligo

On March 31 1813, The Marquis of Sligo writes to Lord Byron. Sligo has recently been released from Newgate prison after having served four months and paid a fine of £5,000  for enticing sailors of the Royal Navy to desert. Byron is considering a trip to Persia with Sligo. 

My Dear Byron – Edwards has this moment brought me your letter it having been opened as the seal was broke: I will shew him the coat but I would not hardly recommend you to get so gay a one I mean to leave mine at home and take out a plain one with a little gold lace round the button holes as that will suit much better. In Persia or India or Sicily or Sardinia we should meet English officers in which case it would not be pleasant to be seen in such a Gimcrack coat I am going to have a regular South Mayo {militia} Uniform made at Davidsons and if you should on consideration prefer such a one I can give permission to you to wear it. Your Sailor could see it there: I have found a Doctor Clarke; his father was an eminent Man at Newcastle and unfortunately shot a man of the name of Payne who was of Trinity and who seduced his sister: He is a most gentlemanlike man and I will conclude with him if you give me a commission so to do by return of post: I have seen the performance of a Mr Morton and as that is more difficult to judge of, taste being every thing I will leave him to call on you when you return to town: Pray let me hear from you when you have made up your mind about your departure for foreign parts: and let me hope & intreat that nothing may persuade you to remain as at present or rather with the present party.

I shall be at Athens in November to a certainty and most sincerely hope to meet you there: Let me know also by return of post what I am to do about that Mr Janier the Greek who is anxious to hear from you and comes to me every day to learn
Yours very sincerely
Sligo

Leave a comment