October 9 1816: Era In My Existence

“The busy time has now gone by, and I can now devote any time you may mention to the pleasure of seeing Mr Hunt-‘t will be an Era in my existence– I am anxious to see the Author of the Sonnet to the Sun, for it is no mean gratification to become acquainted with Men who in their admiration of Poetry do not jumble together Shakespeare and Darwin- I have copied out a sheet or two of Verses which I composed some time ago, and find much to blame worst in them that the best part will go into the fire”

— John Keats writes to C.C. Clarke, October 9 1816.

Leave a Reply

