July 10 1816: Fortieth Independence

ca4pocxumaeid81

I have been to the fortieth Independance. My Reveries would amuse You. Do you think my recollections were proud? Yes they were proud enough to fill my Eyes and my heart. What were they? I will tell you. Where is James Otis? Where is Oxenbridge Thatcher, where is James Bowdoin, where is Dr Winthrop where is Dr Mayhew Dr. Cooper, and above all where is Sam Adams and John Handscock and Joseph and James Warren, Where is Gerry, Cushing Paine? And where are 1000 others whom I used to See, upon Such occasions.?

— John Adams writes to John Quincy Adams, July 10 1816.

Leave a Reply

