June 20 1816: Jefferson on Truth

mte5ndg0mdu1mdewmjq4mja3

I never doubted the purity of your intentions in the publications of which I complained; but the correctness only of committing to the public a private correspondence not intended for their eye.1 as to federal slanders, I never wished them to be answered, but by the tenor of my life, half a century of which has been on a theatre at which the public have been spectators, and competent judges of it’s merit. their approbation has taught a lesson, useful to the world, that the man who fears no truths has nothing to fear from lies. I should have fancied myself half guilty had I condescended to put pen to paper in refutation of their falsehoods, or drawn to them respect by any notice from myself. but let all this be forgotten.

—Thomas Jefferson  writes to George Logan,  June 20 1816.

Leave a Reply

