April 2 1816: Hobhouse’s Finances

john_cam_hobhouse

Tuesday April 2nd 1816: Received a letter from my father increasing my allowance – one hundred pounds a year, and making me a present of a hundred pounds. He sends me my account from March 25th 1815 to March 25th 1816, by which I find that, without taking into account bills now outstanding against me, I spent last year

£            s               d

785.       8.              9.

… and that I have now in hand, besides my new hundred,

£              s                 d

311.          11.              11.

I wrote to my father thanking him for his generosity

—  John Cam Hobhouse writes in his diary, April 2 1816

 

Leave a Reply

