March 7 1816: Shelley Writes to Southey

 

4c1a0-1586

On March 7 1816, Percy Shelley, at the Gray’s Inn Square in London, writes to Robert Southey enclosing a copy of his poem, Alastor;  or,  The Spirit of Solitude.

MY DEAR SIR, I cannot refrain from presenting you with a little poem, the product of a few serene hours of the last beautiful autumn. I shall never forget the pleasure which I derived from your conversation, or the kindness with which I was received in your hospitable circle during the short period of my stay in Cumberland some years ago. The disappointment of some youthful hopes, and subsequent misfortunes of a heavier nature, are all that I can plead as my excuse for neglecting to write to you, as I had promised from Ireland. The true weight of this apology you cannot know. Let it be sufficient that, regarding you with admiration as a poet, and with respect as a man, I send you, as an intimation of those sentiments, my first serious attempt to interest the best feelings of the human heart, believing that you have so much general charity as to forget, like me, how widely in moral and political opinions we disagree, and to attribute that difference to better motives than the multitude are disposed to allege as the cause of dissent from their institutions.

Very sincerely yours, PERCY B. SHELLEY.

Leave a Reply

