February 9 1816: Augusta Calls for Hodgson

medfrancis_hodgson

On February 9 1816, Augusta Leigh writes to Byron’s old Cambridge friend Francis Hodgson, who she hopes will talk some sense into Byron. Augusta writes that Byron “can only bear to see those who flatter him and encourage him to all that is wrong.” She hated Hobhouse. 

Friday eveg , 9 o’clock

DEAR MR. HODGSON,―I’ve been unable to write to you till this moment. Mr. H. staid till a late hour and is now here again. B. dined with me, and after I left ye room I sent your note in, thinking him in better spirits and more free from irritation; he has only just mentioned it to me―“Oh, by the bye, I’ve had a note from H., Augusta, whom you must write to and say I’m so full of domestic calamities that I can’t see any body:” still I think he will see you if he hears you are here, or that even it w d . be better, worst come to the worst, to let the Servant announce you and walk in. Can you call here about 11 tomorrow Mong . when he will not be up, or scarcely awake, and Capt. B., you and I can hold a council on what is best to be done: ye fact is he is now afraid of every body who would tell him ye truth―it is a most dreadful situation, dear Mr. H.! Ye worst is that IF you said “you have done so and so so”, he wd . deny it, and I see he is afraid of your despair, as he terms it, when you hear of his situation―and in short of your telling him the truth; he can only bear to see those who flatter him and encourage him to all that is wrong. I’ve not mentioned having seen you, because I wish him to suppose your opinions unprejudiced. You must see him, and pray and see me and George B. to-morrow Morng , when we will consult upon ye best means. You are the only comfort I’ve had this long time. I’m quite of your opinion on all that is to be feared. Ever yours truly, A. L.

Leave a Reply

