December 27 1815: Intimate of the Woodhouse Family

http://archive.org/stream/repositoryofarts1415acke#page/n225/mode/1up

On December 27 1815,  Lady Morley writes to Jane Austen to compliment her on Emma.

Saltram: (December 27, 1815).

MADAM, — I have been most anxiously waiting for an introduction to “Emma,” and am infinitely obliged to you for your kind recollection of me, which will procure me the pleasure of her acquaintance some days sooner than I should otherwise have had it. I am already become intimate with the Woodhouse family, and feel that they will not amuse and interest me less than the Bennetts, Bertrams, Norrises, and all their admirable predecessors. I can give them no higher praise.

I am, Madam, your much obliged
F. MORLEY.

Leave a Reply

