November 6 1815: Rarely Go Mad

On November 4 to 6, Lord Byron writes to Leigh Hunt. The first part of the letter is missing.

… of any in his way: – – With regard to the E. B. – I have no concealments – nor desire to have any from you or yours – the suppression occurred (I am as sure as I can be of anything) – in the manner stated – I have never regretted that – but very often the composition – that is the humeur of a great deal in it: – – as to the quotation you allude to I have no right – nor indeed desire to prevent it – but on the contrary in common with all other writers – I do & ought to take it as a compliment. – –
The paper on the Methodists was sure to raise the bristles of the godly – I redde it and agree with the writer on one point in which you & he perhaps differ – that an addiction to poetry is very generally the result of “an uneasy mind in an uneasy body” disease or deformity have been the attendants of many of our best – Collins mad – Chatterton I think – mad – Cowper mad – Pope {crooked} – Milton {blind} – Gray – (I have heard the last was afflicted by an incurable & very grievous distemper – though not generally known) & others – – – I have somewhere redde however that poets rarely go mad – I suppose the writer means {that} their insanity effervesces & evaporates in verse – may be so. – I have not time nor paper to attack your system – which ought to be done – were it only because it is a system – so by & bye – have at you, yrs. ever Byron

Leave a Reply

