September 13 1815: Scott to Byron

On September 13 1815, Walter Scott writes to Lord Byron, from the White Horse, Piccadilly.

MY DEAR LORD,—We are at present guests with some old friends from whom I cannot easily disengage myself so soon as tomorrow evening. But I am much more desirous to see you than Kean or Garrick if he could be called to life again. Murray tells me you are to be in his shop by three o’clock when I hope to have the pleasure I have long wished [for] of making your personal acquaintance. I beg your Lorship to accept (though a late) a most sincere congratulation upon your late change of condition. I am with much respect and regard your Lordship’s most faithful and obliged
WALTER SCOTT

Leave a Reply

