July 9 1815: Vice and Crime in Government

VICE

On July 9 1815, Talleyrand is appointed president of the council and foreign minister under new government of Louis XVIII. Joseph Fouché, who had been a Jacobin, was a regicide, and served as Napoleon’s minister of police, was now appointed Minister of Police in the new royalist government. François-René de Chateaubriand gives a memorable description of Fouché, and Talleyrand, supposedly walking arm in arm to a dinner given on July 6, 1815.

«Ensuite, je me rendis chez Sa Majesté: introduit dans une des chambres qui précédaient celle du roi, je ne trouvai personne; je m’assis dans un coin et j’attendis. Tout à coup une porte s’ouvre : entre silencieusement le vice appuyé sur le bras du crime, M. de Talleyrand marchant soutenu par M. Fouché; la vision infernale passe lentement devant moi, pénètre dans le cabinet du roi et disparaît. Fouché venait jurer foi et hommage à son seigneur; le féal régicide, à genoux, mît les mains qui firent tomber la tête de Louis XVI entre les mains du frère du roi martyr; l’évêque apostat fut caution du serment. »

— François-René de Chateaubriand, Mémoires d’Outre-tombe

Leave a Reply

