May 21 1815: An Apology in Verse

From Charles Francis Adams, who is seven years old, writes to his father John Quincy Adams to apologize.

Havre 21 Mai 1815

Dear Papa: I am very sorry that I broke the glass, but I could not help it, and for that, I write you these verses.
Tendre appuis de mes premiers ans
Toi qui pris soins de mon enfance
Je te dois tout, savoir, talens,
Je te dois meme l’existence.
De tant d’amour de tant de soins
La récompense est ma tendresse
Papa, tu me verras un jour,
Étré l’appui de ta vielliesse.

Accept this offer, I am, dear Papa, your dutiful, and affectionate Son,
C F Adams

Leave a Reply

