January 22 1815: Lord Byron’s 27th Birthday

Bel6vanCMAEh5mz

 

On January 22 1815, Lord Byron, born on January 22 1788, celebrates his 27th year of “existence” . He is at Seaham Hall with his wife’s parents, a decision that appears to have been made by Lady Byron. He acquiesced, but not altogether happily, in the decision, writing “you know I am a very good natured fellow – and the more easily governed because not ashamed of being so – and so Bell has her own way – and no doubt means to keep it.” He writes to Lady Melbourne:

Mine Aunt – This day completes my 27th. {year} of existence and (save a day) my “3 weeks after marriage” – I am 4 years and 3 months older than Bell who will be twenty three on May 17th. – I suppose this is a fair disproportion. – – – –

Yesterday I came here – somewhat anent my imperial will – but never mind – you know I am a very good natured fellow – and the more easily governed because not ashamed of being so – and so Bell. has her own way – and no doubt means to keep it – for which reason I prodigiously applaud your having written 2 letters to her – and – only 3 to me – and one of them full of Lady Blarney (by way of emetic) &c. &c. which I presume you meant me to show – by the way – I cannot sufficiently admire your cautious style since I became chicken=pecked – but I love thee – ma Tante – and therefore forgive your doubts – {implied but not expressed –} which will last – till the next scrape I get into – and then we shall wax confidential again – and I shall have good advice – I look upon you as my Good Genius. – I am scribbling in my dressing room – and Bell. is in bed – so you ought to think the length of this epistle a large effort of complaisance. – I sent C. an answer – which produced no rejoinder – thus – all is right – at least I hope so – we are all well – and Sir R is going on Tuesday to a County meeting – to oppose continuance of taxes. – I shall stay at home quietly with Mrs Quotem.
– – – – –
Love and health to <my> all my new cousins – and particularly to Unc. M.
ever yours most truly
[swirl signature]

Leave a Reply

