November 11 1814: Lord Castlereagh to William Wilberforce.

On November 11 1814, Lord Castlereagh writes to William Wilberforce.,

Vienna, November 11, 1814.

My dear Sir — I have received your letter to Prince Talleyrand, and have obeyed your commands in laying copies before the Sovereigns here.

In return, I beg your acceptance of a publication which I have effected here, with a short explanatory preface. The text, as you know, is a translation; the first chapters differ little from a publication of Mr. Clarkson’s, which he was so obliging as to send me lately from Paris : I did not, however, wish to rest our case upon this, without adding the proofs contained in the latter chapters, which go to show that abolition is not ruinous; a conclusion which many will listen to, who might be deaf to a moral appeal.

I have not yet been able to enter upon this object in form here, for reasons that may probably occur to you, but I will seize the first favourable opportunity for doing so.
Believe me, &c., CASTLEREAGH.

One thought on “November 11 1814: Lord Castlereagh to William Wilberforce.

Leave a Reply

