November 6 1814: Ton Mary Publically

On November 6 1814, Lord Byron writes to Lady Melbourne, from Seaham, where he is ending his visit with Annabella.

P.S. – A– showed me your remarks upon her requisites for a spouse – you can’t think how sensible & amusing they are – I mean the comments. – I wish you would write to her – she seems to feel very kindly towards you – & I should love her were it only for that. –

Novr . 6th. 1814

My dear Lady Me . – Annabella & I go on extremely well – we have been much together and if such details were not insipid to a third person it would not be difficult to prove that we appear much attached – & I hope permanently so. – She is as you know a perfectly good person – but I think not only her feelings and affections – but her passions stronger than we supposed – of these last I can’t as yet positively judge – my observations lead me to guess as much however – she herself cannot be aware of this – nor could I except from a habit of attending minutely in such cases to their slightest indications & of course I don’t let her participate in the discovery, in which after all I may be mistaken. – Our lawyers are in a fair train of concluding their parchment passports to matrimony – and I am happy to say – in the most amicable way without disputes – demurs – or more delays – when quite done – which may be in a fortnight – we are to marry quietly – & to set off by ourselves to Halnaby for the Moon – and afterwards probably to a house (Farleigh) which I have  taken in Hampshire – a large & comfortably retired mansion which I know by having been there some years ago – & I think it will suit us very well. – Lady M. will probably have informed you of the settlements &c I am making all the proposed arrangements about N & R <which is> and her present fortune is to be I think £20-000 – which is all that is certain – I would not as you may suppose embarrass the old ones by boring them to bind yhemselves down about futurity – they say that Ld . W. has declared her {by will}
his heiress – indeed he himself went over to Durham & told Hoar so in positive terms – but he best knows whether he will adhere to such intention – I wish to trust as little as possible to expectations – though even hers seem very sanguine – if realized it will all be very well – & if not – should she herself continue what I firmly believe her – I could bear – indeed I could hardly regret any posthumous disappointments – unless I thought that she suffered from her connection with me. –

I am not – however – romantic nor indifferent to these – which are good things in themselves – but simply do not wish to set our hopes too high since their completion will not be the less pleasant because they were temperate – while their moderation in case of the contrary would save us any violent vexation. – – – – – –

I think we all improve – & suit very well – I endeavour to conform to their habits which is not difficult – & I could hope that I am not a troublesome inmate – they are very kind – and A. & I of course still kinder – I hope she will be happy – I am sure she can make & keep me so if she likes. – I wrote to you a day or two ago – & hope to sign myself soon – not more affectionately but more entirely yours [swirl signature]

Leave a Reply

